Reviews

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Home Instead Senior Care ReviewsRead what other families in Etobicoke have to say about Home Instead Senior Care®:​​

Latest Reviews & Testimonials 

"Home Instead has been a lifesaver for me. I live 250 miles from my eldery mother, and knowing that she has excellent care to remain in her home is a great comfort for me. Nicky her caregiver is a wonderful person and very attentive to moms needs, and her quirks as well. She is never late and is willing to see mom when she is in the hospital, an extra bonus. Diane provides regular updates on how mom is doing. Something I did not get from another service. All of the staff are very friendly and accommodating if you have a question/concern. I cannot reccommend Home Instead highly enough. 10/10"

Posted by client's son on Jan 21 2019

"My mother was very reluctant to receive any help when we first approached the idea, but she now looks forward to seeing Mary every week and keeps telling us what a pleasant person she is. We appreciate the fact that Mary is able to take her out on shopping expeditions and will spend time chatting with her after she has finished her shift."

Posted by Susan T., client's daughter on Jan 07 2019

"I cannot praise this place enough. My boss was left short-staffed when one of his mother's caregivers abruptly quit just before the end-of-year holidays; the team at Home Instead took the reins immediately resolved a very stressful situation. We are so grateful for their excellent work. Cecilia was so helpful, communicative, and organized. She really made us feel cared for."

Posted by James S. on Dec 20 2018

"Incredible dedication and compassion. When I have needed them, they have been there. Full service care in the home environment. They are doing a wonderful job helping me look after my parents at such a difficult time."

Posted by Harther R., clients'daughter on Dec 15 2018

"My family and I would highly recommend using the services of Home Instead Senior Care. This team has provided excellent care to our Uncle who suffers from Alzheimer's and refuses to go into long-term care. Their services have provided peace of mind to our family. Our caregiver, Mary, has been instrumental in encouraging our Uncle to do things he otherwise didn't want to do, like showering ! Not only does she provide him excellent care, but she's become a true companion and friend, and he frequently tells us how much he likes her. This firm goes above and beyond in ensuring their clients needs are being met. Diane Langan, the Client Care Coordinator, has made personal visits to his residence. This is not something we expected ! Thank you team for being an important part of helping to ensure our Uncle is safe and well taken care of."

Posted by C Wilkinson, client's niece on Dec 11 2018

"Home Instead provided me with excellent home care workers when I needed them after surgery;. I have nothing but praise for the care I was given . Diane Langan was such a pleasant and caring coordinator of the services given to me. I would highly recommend Home Instead."

Posted by Pat B., client on Dec 08 2018

"The staff is exceptional and extremely professional. I highly recommend them!"

Posted by Joe K. on Nov 18 2018

"My brother John and myself have been extremely pleased with the care provided our father by the team at Home Instead Etobicoke. Every senior has different needs and requirements and we found the team at Home Instead was very diligent and thoughtful about the care giver assigned to our Dad. They involved us in the process and made sure we were content with whomever was looking after Dad. They have a great system of follow up and engagement with the family which includes random visits from Diane to check on Dad, make sure he was happy and to discuss hockey and the exciting Leaf season. We would recommend Home Instead Etobicoke for any family looking for extra support for their elderly loved one who is not ready to give up on their independent living but requires third party care and assistance. Thank you Home Instead Etobicoke. Steve and John Wood"

Posted by Steve W., client's son on Nov 14 2018

"Home Instead has been providing care for our mom over the last several years. It's been a very positive experience and I appreciate their proactive approach to care and the focus on the relationship between the client and caregiver. Having a regular caregiver has been so important and beneficial, It's been such a pleasant experience having Home Instead delivering care for our mom and their systems and follow-up are unparalleled. They are simply the best at home care. Thank you Home Instead!"

Posted by Martin F., client's son on Nov 06 2018

"Their kind and dedicated caregivers made a significant difference to the last year of my mother’s life and our family’s peace of mind. Highly recommended."

Posted by Judy I., client's daughter on Oct 31 2018
​ ​​

"Home Instead is at the top in their field when it comes to providing quality customer service to clients, caregivers and families in the community. Making the hard decision of entrusting an organization with your family is made much easier when dealing with an organization like Home Instead. Their staff go above and beyond to provide excellent service with patience, empathy and hard work to ensure the happiness of all their clients and partners alike. Home instead is truly the definition of a strong and reliable home care service. Thank you for the passion that goes into your service and for your outstanding staff!"

Nicole C.
Etobicoke


"What a wonderful organization, very friendly and very helpful. The staff always answer my questions with speed and efficiency. I always know I will have the help I need just a phone call away."

Kimberly M.
Etobicoke


"Connie has been my contact with Home Instead for quite some time now. I find her demeanor refreshing, bubbly, kind and understanding. Most importantly, she is very hands on and proactive with her clients our needs. When there has been a scheduling change. She will take the initiative to arrange for a replacement (regardless the time of day or weekend) – giving her clients peace of mind knowing our loved ones will be taken care of. Notifies her clients of upcoming vacation plans of our Care Providers, and ensures there is a replacement and that replacement shadows the Provider, to minimize disruption of routine. She understands our needs and facilitates in finding the right person to fill the position in providing that care and comfort. I am very happy with the support Connie continues to provide us."

Arlene, client’s POA
Kingsway, Etobicoke


"Home Instead responded in a timely manner and assigned appropriate caregivers even when our mother’s care needs changed . All staff were professional and caring and treated our elderly mom with respect and dignity. Many went above and beyond their assigned role to ensure mom’s comfort. I would recommend Home Instead to other families."

Pat Norman, client’s daughter
The Village of Humber Heights, Etobicoke


"Upon meeting the representative from Home Instead we were immediately at ease. Conversation and our desires were warmly received. Even though our "indecision" lingered, when I called Home Instead in a "panic" in an emergency situation, I was again warmly received. I was patiently listened to and in a "extremely short timeline" Home Instead was able to assist me with someone who willingly and graciously 'filled the bill'."

Cecilia
Rexdale, Etobicoke


"I am so glad I found this very professional and caring company. Brenda Enright, the managing director assessed our needs very carefully and as a result we have a lovely, intelligent and compassionate young lady, Elizabeth (Lisa) to help us organizing , cleaning, cooking, shopping and even gardening.
I had occasion to meet Belinda Nazarowicz a registered nurse belonging to the management of this company. My husband and I are very impressed by her knowledge and sincere care of her patients."

Otto and Kathy Strausz
Islington, Etobicoke


"Just wanted the office staff and caregivers to know how much my family appreciates the care my father and step-mother are receiving. We are a blended family and things can get chaotic very quickly. The caregivers are always flexible, upbeat and a calming influence. Their personalities are perfectly matched to this type of work. Their skills and training shows in how they interact with their clients. We really appreciate everything that they do for us. Thanks!! "

Carmen Hurren, client’s daughter, Etobicoke


"Home Instead Senior Care has been providing in home help for my mother for six months now, and we have been continually impressed by our experience. 
They find and identify CAREGivers that are excellent people, and they support them with an office staff to take care of things that come up from time to time. Perhaps you need an extra day because of a statutory holiday, or maybe you'd like to have more days with one CAREGiver and less with another. Whatever comes up, the office staff are immediately accessible, are kind and helpful, and find a way to meet your needs. 
This is an exceptionally well run organization, combining the best of business efficiency with the best of kind-hearted assurance and helpfulness. It begins with a visit from a Director of Client Care (in our case, Belinda Nazarowycz)) who comes to the home and assesses the needs and the personalities of the family, and then finds an ideal person to be the CAREGiver. After appropriate follow-up, the client begins working with an inside manager who takes care of anything that comes up at all times. Each client has someone to phone who gets to know them, as well as the regular care giver who comes to the house.
I highly recommend Home Instead for personal in-home care, and I'm thankful that we found them."

Glenn Davis, client’s son, Etobicoke


I hadn't had a good a night’s sleep in the last 4 years living with and caring for all of my  mom's needs; recently I have due to the help of Home Instead.  Our current CAREGiver  is wonderful to mom. I am extremely grateful for HISC's help!

James Scull, client’s son
Eatonville, Etobicoke


My CAREGiver represents Home Instead very well.  She's very professional when she arrives and she's lovely. I've had people before (to do home help) but she's different. She tells me not to worry when I ask her to do something and says 'that's my job'. When I feel bad that I can't do as much as I could she steps in and does it for me. I can't push a vacuum or lift so it really helps me when she comes. And she LOVES seniors

Irene S., client
Royal York Gardens, Richview, Etobicoke


Sonia has made the world a better place for my 101 year old friend who is mostly blind and  almost deaf.  Sonia is like the caring daughter  Wilma never had and I am grateful for her everyday.  I now have peace of mind that Wilma has the eyes and ears she needs to continue to live independently, with dignity ... and a lot of love. Thanks Sonia - you are appreciated!

Mary Anne M, client’s friend
The Tapestry, Eatonville, Etobicoke


Home Instead worked with us closely to assess my sister's need for support arising from her Alzheimer's disease. They know the effects of the disease and have shown great flexibility in responding to changing conditions. They did an excellent job in matching the CAREGiver to the situation and they have been successful in winning my sister over when she was very opposed to support of any kind. We receive almost daily updates and continue to use their services on a regular basis.

Jane and Georges Simard 
Richview, Etobicoke


Nancy's like my family. We have a lot of fun and she know me better than anyone.

Audrey W, client
Lambton, Etobicoke


Our family is so happy and grateful that Stella is looking after our Mom. Stella is very professional and knowledgeable while being gentle, caring and compassionate at the same time - everything we could possibly ask for in a CAREGiver for our sweet Mom. Thank you and Congratulations Stella!

Martha, client’s daughter
North Etobicoke


Mum has really bonded with Ruth and to introduce mum to another caregiver would be too much change for her at this time
Ruth has been such a big help to mum and all of us during this challenging time. Mum really enjoys Ruth’s company and we feel very lucky to have such a wonderful person to be so kind and understanding to mum.
Thank you to Home Instead for such a great experience and I will refer your company to anyone I encounter that will be in the same situation as myself

Andrea Kirby
The Westbury, Eatonville, Etobicoke


Marjorie truly always has Mother's best interests at heart...be they physical or social.  You can tell how much Mother cares about Marjorie too, as Mother always worries about whether Marjorie has her gloves and scarf and will get home safely. Even the staff remark on how well they interact.
We certainly consider Marjorie an indispensable part of our team keeping our favourite "almost 93 year old" as happy and healthy as possible.

Catherine I, client’s daughter
Etobicoke


Mel is well deserving of this recognition. She is consistently attentive to my Dad, aware of even the most subtle changes in his     condition. She excels at non-verbal  communication and works seamlessly with hospital staff. Her cheery disposition is a positive influence that radiates to all around her. She is an excellent ambassador of all the good and caring that Home Instead  represents.

Tim S, client’s son
Bloor West Village, Etobicoke


At a time when I was reaching the end of my rope caring for two elderly parents in Long Term Care, I called Home Instead Senior Care. With both my parents in a facility one with Alzheimer's and the other confined to a wheelchair and also suffering with dementia, dehydration and difficulty swallowing I was hanging by a thread. The staff at the LTC facility are remarkable and do a fabulous job, but the care my father needs is above a beyond. I spent 9 - 13 hour days caring for him when I could, but maintaining a full time job myself I had reached burnout. Home Instead, from the very first call of desperation, tears and all, were very professional and advised me they could help. In less than 24 hours from that first call I met with a representative who advised me of the various services available. She was instantly a friend and someone prepared to listen with great understanding of what I was going through. She came into my dad's room to meet with him and made several notes to be sure the best match could be made for a CAREGiver. Two people were selected to care for my dad, one on the weekends and one Monday - Friday. All this happened within 2 days. What a relief I felt when the following day my burnout kicked in and I was laid up for almost 2 weeks with a terrible cold, laryngitis and general malaise. I knew that for 6 hours a day there was extra care and companionship at my dad's side, in addition to the care he was already receiving from the facility. I already have referred this service to others, both as a potential help for their care needs and as a potential employer. Home Instead is a lifeline that many may not know is available. It is a professional organization and you are not a "client that pays a bill" you are now a part of their family of CAREGivers, they contact you regularly and make visits to the patient in follow up to see how things are going. In reality they are an extension of you. Caring for elder parents is a huge responsibility and a full time commitment in addition to the regular stresses of raising a family, maintaining a job and a home. I am forever indebted to this service and would highly recommend that if you are reading this, you should call them now and lighten your burden. 

Brenda, client’s daughter
Eatonville, Etobicoke


I second everything my Mom said, Holly has made everyone's life better.

  Michelle  O, client’s daughter
Mimico, Etobicoke


Seminoli is just outstanding!  He is very positive and    supportive, very patient.  My brother just loves him.  He has done everything I have asked him to do.  Not only does he follow directions from myself or others, for example when a physiotherapist asks him to carry out an exercise  program, he is also proactive in being able to identify Steve’s needs.  Steve is very engaged with  Seminoli.  Seminoli persists in finding ways to meet Steve’s needs.

Ann D, client’s sister
The Tapestry, Eatonville, Etobicoke


Bailey & Anne Marie both have a great sense of humour and they are very caring also

Ann T, client’s wife.
Etobicoke


Angeline started working with us on a regular rotation this spring. She has definitely become part of our very close knit team whose mission is to make sure that the last stages of living are as comfortable and meaningful as they can make it. Every person on the DLH team who has had a chance to connect with Angeline has commented on her quiet, positive demeanor and her beautiful smile. Thank you, Angeline for becoming part of our family.

Debra,
Dorothey Ley Hospice, Etobicoke


Alba is a fantastic CAREGiver. She is very caring and compassionate. She is able to communicate well with others and my father adores her! My father has improved over the last few weeks and I know Alba played a big part in that. Congratulations Alba!

Annette
Centennial Park, Etobicoke


Ashley, Nailia, Alpha, Nancy & Trupti are great and they’re doing a good job!

Audrey W.
Lambton, Etobicoke


Girlie is always smiling but what especially stands out about her is that she maintains a positive attitude often in difficult circumstances. She shows such enthusiasm for her role as a CAREGiver. Before she leaves every day, she reviews her client's needs to ensure everything is set out for others involved in the client's care.  She truly goes 'above and beyond'.  Girlie is very caring and shows great respect for her client.  It is a pleasure to have her as part of this client's care team.

Suzette C., Tapestry
Eatonville, Etobicoke


Josephine has been with our Mom for quite some time now and has always been extremely reliable, competent and someone we can count on.  But even more, Josephine’s approach to her job is caring and compassionate.  She has always been a calming and reassuring CAREGiver especially during times when our Mom is anxious or confused.  We are so glad to have Josephine looking after our sweet Mom  - it gives us great peace of mind.  Thank you Josephine!  We all think you deserve this recognition!

  client’s daughter
Jamestown, North Etobicoke


Marivic has a great personality and is very obliging. She is a diligent worker and is always looking for things to do. My wife and I greatly appreciate her help and are grateful for all that she has done for us.

Client
Humber Valley Village, Etobicoke


Dad had more than his fair share of health challenges in his last two months of life but many hands had helped make sure that the last part of his journey had been as comfortable for him as possible.
Your staff is wonderful.  It offered the family great comfort when we could leave Dad's room and know that he was in good hands  - that there was someone there to assist him when he needed it - through every challenge he faced.
Your staff are compassionate, patient and professional people (I even had Janet and Le calling or texting me for updates on Dad's condition)
Please thank your entire staff on behalf of my family.

Karen
Etobicoke


Maria is a kind and caring individual, who is doing a fine job with my father. She arrives promptly, attends to meal preparation with efficiency, and always finds time to socialize with him during her visits. Maria has a cheerful, positive attitude, appreciated by both my father and family members. She laughs easily and deals with changes to schedules with flexibility. Getting to know her clients is important to Maria and she goes the extra distance to pamper my dad and make him feel special. It makes me feel relieved to know that Maria is there to take care of my dad when I cannot be at the house.

Adrian Stanowski.
Markland Woods, Etobicoke


Read more testimonials

Learn More

Rates & Hours

We can tailor a home care arrangement to fit both your family's lifestyle and budget.

Read More
Careers

Reap rewards beyond measure -- and get paid, too.

Read More
Our Story

As a locally owned business, we offer friendly, responsive service right in your neighbourhood.

Read More ​​​
​ ​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​
Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Sign up for advice

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Please select at least one newsletter.
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample
By submitting your email address, you consent to receive emails from Home Instead, Inc. You can withdraw your consent at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy or contact us for more details.