Reviews

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Home Instead Senior Care ReviewsRead what other families in Etobicoke have to say about Home Instead Senior Care®:​​

Latest Reviews & Testimonials 

"It has been a pleasure to work with the team at Home Instead. The caregivers have been wonderful--always on time, working hard to help my parents with light housekeeping and meals. They are so accommodating and willing to adapt to whatever tasks are needed. The scheduling staff are also excellent and quick to handle any schedule changes. The co-ordinators are also very responsive and take great care to assure that everything is going well for the clients and the staff. Highly recommended!"

Posted by Joanne S., clients' daughter on Oct 13 2017

"Our Family will be eternally grateful for the amazing care and personal support received from everyone at Home Instead. Truthfully it felt like they were an extended part of our family. When Dad passed away Mom was overwhelmed with grief, we were so devastated. Cecila, Diane and especially Shericia were a great source of comfort and support. As our loved ones age they need so much more help from us, their children but we can't be there 24 hours a day. I highly recommend Home Instead Caregiving services. They truly do have Heart, you can lean on them & be confident your Mom or Dad or both will be looked after exactly as you would care for and love them. Thank you so much Home Instead Family from The McKenzie family"

Posted by Janice M., client's daughter on Oct 11 2017

"From the first day I met Mary I felt comfortable with her. We talked a little to get to know each other, and then I explained the household chores I had trouble with and where my equipment and supplies were. Each time she comes we have a little visit and she efficiently sets to work making my house spic and span. She finds other chores I haven't even thought of. I enjoy her kind and cheerful spirit and look forward to each visit. Thank you Home Instead."

Posted by Gwen T., client on Oct 06 2017

"I am very impressed with Home Instead Senior Care. The caregivers who have helped us are compassionate, caring, and helpful. What I like in particular about Home Instead is the organization and oversight: for example, when caregivers arrive and leave they sign in via telephone. Each caregiver writes notes in a special binder so that I know what transpired during their shift. If there is any issue, such as a client taking an extra dose of medication, the caregiver phones the office and someone at the office contacts me to let me know what happened and seek advice. Also, the office arranges for caregivers, so that is one less thing I have to do. Home Instead has allowed me to have breaks from caring for my husband who has Alzheimer's; I have been able to go away for a few weekends and take a week's vacation at my sister's cottage. I am very thankful and lucky to have Home Instead."

Posted by Mara G., client's wife on Sep 21 2017

"We found Home Instead on the internet by looking for in-home caregivers. From the beginning interview and the first caregiver (for a few hours a day, three-days a week), Home Instead exceeded expectations. As time went on and our mother's needs increased, we added caregivers until we relied on Home Instead for 24/7 care. To cover 24-hours a day, 7 days a week, we had 5 regular caregivers and a few others who came in when a regular caregiver was away. Every caregiver was different and every one superb. All exceptionally well trained. They were never late. They never missed a shift. They communicated with each other. They had optimum judgment in all they did. They looked after everything needed and my mother loved and trusted them, as we did. And the Home Instead schedulers are as good as the caregivers. To this day I don't know how the scheduler's are able to make sure no shifts are missed, and find the best of people to handle every shift - but they do. Thank you!  "

Posted by Glenn, Brian and Murray, client's sons on Aug 17 2017

"Good service, prompt when requesting help. Our current caregiver is wonderful. I can't say enough with the caring that she provides for both my parents, making sure they take their medication, making the meals and laundry if necessary and tending to my parents needs. She is not overbearing or loud but is quiet with a pleasant demeanour suited to caring for them. Both parents are very pleased."

Posted by Bruce G., client's son on Jul 24 2017

"Our office has received excellent feedback from the family caregivers about the service provided to them by Home Instead. Caregivers have described the Home Instead staff to be professional, attentive, dependable, trustworthy and compassionate. The office staff has also been described to be very courteous and helpful. Great work!!!"

Posted by Ajit P., Respite Advisor on Jul 20 2017

"Home Instead has saved us over and over again for the last year. The caregivers are amazing and the office staff has been incredibly helpful beyond expectations. We feel heard and can breathe easier knowing they're there to help."

Posted by Cornelia F., client's daughter on Apr 27 2017

"I have been working with the Home Instead team to assist in the care of my Mom for a year now. I always find the staff to be accommodating and professional and our experience has been very positive. Their support has been a lifeline."

Posted by Sue T., client's daughter on Mar 08 2017

"We were faced with a huge challenge. Our Mother - who lives with dementia - required to have ongoing radiation treatments every day for 6 weeks. 30 total appointments. All family members were either too far away geographically or could not manage this daily for 6 weeks because of work commitments. Because of her dementia, our Mother could not navigate taxis or even volunteer drivers as these are literally door-to-door pick up and drop off. We were so happy to find Home Instead Senior Care as they matched us with a PSW Caregiver that daily came to our Mom's room in the Senior Residence, helped to get her ready, then drove her to the appointment, stayed with her through the treatment appointment and then saw her back to her room safely each day. This Caregiver was excellent in everything that she did. I don't find it easy to hand off care of my Mother - because of her dementia - to just anyone, and the Home Instead Team and Caregiver immediately won my support and trust. Now the daunting requirement of getting to 30 hospital appointments was something that became routine and not worrisome to us, the family. We could not have found a better or more convenient and effective solution to our need than Home Instead. I would recommend them fully if you need transportation services where more than just a pick up and drop off is required. Our Caregiver's name was Ruth and she was amazing from beginning to end! Thank you Home Instead Senior Care."

Posted by Ken G., client's son on Mar 07 2017
​ ​​

"Home Instead is at the top in their field when it comes to providing quality customer service to clients, caregivers and families in the community. Making the hard decision of entrusting an organization with your family is made much easier when dealing with an organization like Home Instead. Their staff go above and beyond to provide excellent service with patience, empathy and hard work to ensure the happiness of all their clients and partners alike. Home instead is truly the definition of a strong and reliable home care service. Thank you for the passion that goes into your service and for your outstanding staff!"

Nicole C.
Etobicoke


"What a wonderful organization, very friendly and very helpful. The staff always answer my questions with speed and efficiency. I always know I will have the help I need just a phone call away."

Kimberly M.
Etobicoke


"Connie has been my contact with Home Instead for quite some time now. I find her demeanor refreshing, bubbly, kind and understanding. Most importantly, she is very hands on and proactive with her clients our needs. When there has been a scheduling change. She will take the initiative to arrange for a replacement (regardless the time of day or weekend) – giving her clients peace of mind knowing our loved ones will be taken care of. Notifies her clients of upcoming vacation plans of our Care Providers, and ensures there is a replacement and that replacement shadows the Provider, to minimize disruption of routine. She understands our needs and facilitates in finding the right person to fill the position in providing that care and comfort. I am very happy with the support Connie continues to provide us."

Arlene, client’s POA
Kingsway, Etobicoke


"Home Instead responded in a timely manner and assigned appropriate caregivers even when our mother’s care needs changed . All staff were professional and caring and treated our elderly mom with respect and dignity. Many went above and beyond their assigned role to ensure mom’s comfort. I would recommend Home Instead to other families."

Pat Norman, client’s daughter
The Village of Humber Heights, Etobicoke


"Upon meeting the representative from Home Instead we were immediately at ease. Conversation and our desires were warmly received. Even though our "indecision" lingered, when I called Home Instead in a "panic" in an emergency situation, I was again warmly received. I was patiently listened to and in a "extremely short timeline" Home Instead was able to assist me with someone who willingly and graciously 'filled the bill'."

Cecilia
Rexdale, Etobicoke


"I am so glad I found this very professional and caring company. Brenda Enright, the managing director assessed our needs very carefully and as a result we have a lovely, intelligent and compassionate young lady, Elizabeth (Lisa) to help us organizing , cleaning, cooking, shopping and even gardening.
I had occasion to meet Belinda Nazarowicz a registered nurse belonging to the management of this company. My husband and I are very impressed by her knowledge and sincere care of her patients."

Otto and Kathy Strausz
Islington, Etobicoke


"Just wanted the office staff and caregivers to know how much my family appreciates the care my father and step-mother are receiving. We are a blended family and things can get chaotic very quickly. The caregivers are always flexible, upbeat and a calming influence. Their personalities are perfectly matched to this type of work. Their skills and training shows in how they interact with their clients. We really appreciate everything that they do for us. Thanks!! "

Carmen Hurren, client’s daughter, Etobicoke


"Home Instead Senior Care has been providing in home help for my mother for six months now, and we have been continually impressed by our experience. 
They find and identify CAREGivers that are excellent people, and they support them with an office staff to take care of things that come up from time to time. Perhaps you need an extra day because of a statutory holiday, or maybe you'd like to have more days with one CAREGiver and less with another. Whatever comes up, the office staff are immediately accessible, are kind and helpful, and find a way to meet your needs. 
This is an exceptionally well run organization, combining the best of business efficiency with the best of kind-hearted assurance and helpfulness. It begins with a visit from a Director of Client Care (in our case, Belinda Nazarowycz)) who comes to the home and assesses the needs and the personalities of the family, and then finds an ideal person to be the CAREGiver. After appropriate follow-up, the client begins working with an inside manager who takes care of anything that comes up at all times. Each client has someone to phone who gets to know them, as well as the regular care giver who comes to the house.
I highly recommend Home Instead for personal in-home care, and I'm thankful that we found them."

Glenn Davis, client’s son, Etobicoke


I hadn't had a good a night’s sleep in the last 4 years living with and caring for all of my  mom's needs; recently I have due to the help of Home Instead.  Our current CAREGiver  is wonderful to mom. I am extremely grateful for HISC's help!

James Scull, client’s son
Eatonville, Etobicoke


My CAREGiver represents Home Instead very well.  She's very professional when she arrives and she's lovely. I've had people before (to do home help) but she's different. She tells me not to worry when I ask her to do something and says 'that's my job'. When I feel bad that I can't do as much as I could she steps in and does it for me. I can't push a vacuum or lift so it really helps me when she comes. And she LOVES seniors

Irene S., client
Royal York Gardens, Richview, Etobicoke


Sonia has made the world a better place for my 101 year old friend who is mostly blind and  almost deaf.  Sonia is like the caring daughter  Wilma never had and I am grateful for her everyday.  I now have peace of mind that Wilma has the eyes and ears she needs to continue to live independently, with dignity ... and a lot of love. Thanks Sonia - you are appreciated!

Mary Anne M, client’s friend
The Tapestry, Eatonville, Etobicoke


Home Instead worked with us closely to assess my sister's need for support arising from her Alzheimer's disease. They know the effects of the disease and have shown great flexibility in responding to changing conditions. They did an excellent job in matching the CAREGiver to the situation and they have been successful in winning my sister over when she was very opposed to support of any kind. We receive almost daily updates and continue to use their services on a regular basis.

Jane and Georges Simard 
Richview, Etobicoke


Nancy's like my family. We have a lot of fun and she know me better than anyone.

Audrey W, client
Lambton, Etobicoke


Our family is so happy and grateful that Stella is looking after our Mom. Stella is very professional and knowledgeable while being gentle, caring and compassionate at the same time - everything we could possibly ask for in a CAREGiver for our sweet Mom. Thank you and Congratulations Stella!

Martha, client’s daughter
North Etobicoke


Mum has really bonded with Ruth and to introduce mum to another caregiver would be too much change for her at this time
Ruth has been such a big help to mum and all of us during this challenging time. Mum really enjoys Ruth’s company and we feel very lucky to have such a wonderful person to be so kind and understanding to mum.
Thank you to Home Instead for such a great experience and I will refer your company to anyone I encounter that will be in the same situation as myself

Andrea Kirby
The Westbury, Eatonville, Etobicoke


Marjorie truly always has Mother's best interests at heart...be they physical or social.  You can tell how much Mother cares about Marjorie too, as Mother always worries about whether Marjorie has her gloves and scarf and will get home safely. Even the staff remark on how well they interact.
We certainly consider Marjorie an indispensable part of our team keeping our favourite "almost 93 year old" as happy and healthy as possible.

Catherine I, client’s daughter
Etobicoke


Mel is well deserving of this recognition. She is consistently attentive to my Dad, aware of even the most subtle changes in his     condition. She excels at non-verbal  communication and works seamlessly with hospital staff. Her cheery disposition is a positive influence that radiates to all around her. She is an excellent ambassador of all the good and caring that Home Instead  represents.

Tim S, client’s son
Bloor West Village, Etobicoke


At a time when I was reaching the end of my rope caring for two elderly parents in Long Term Care, I called Home Instead Senior Care. With both my parents in a facility one with Alzheimer's and the other confined to a wheelchair and also suffering with dementia, dehydration and difficulty swallowing I was hanging by a thread. The staff at the LTC facility are remarkable and do a fabulous job, but the care my father needs is above a beyond. I spent 9 - 13 hour days caring for him when I could, but maintaining a full time job myself I had reached burnout. Home Instead, from the very first call of desperation, tears and all, were very professional and advised me they could help. In less than 24 hours from that first call I met with a representative who advised me of the various services available. She was instantly a friend and someone prepared to listen with great understanding of what I was going through. She came into my dad's room to meet with him and made several notes to be sure the best match could be made for a CAREGiver. Two people were selected to care for my dad, one on the weekends and one Monday - Friday. All this happened within 2 days. What a relief I felt when the following day my burnout kicked in and I was laid up for almost 2 weeks with a terrible cold, laryngitis and general malaise. I knew that for 6 hours a day there was extra care and companionship at my dad's side, in addition to the care he was already receiving from the facility. I already have referred this service to others, both as a potential help for their care needs and as a potential employer. Home Instead is a lifeline that many may not know is available. It is a professional organization and you are not a "client that pays a bill" you are now a part of their family of CAREGivers, they contact you regularly and make visits to the patient in follow up to see how things are going. In reality they are an extension of you. Caring for elder parents is a huge responsibility and a full time commitment in addition to the regular stresses of raising a family, maintaining a job and a home. I am forever indebted to this service and would highly recommend that if you are reading this, you should call them now and lighten your burden. 

Brenda, client’s daughter
Eatonville, Etobicoke


I second everything my Mom said, Holly has made everyone's life better.

  Michelle  O, client’s daughter
Mimico, Etobicoke


Seminoli is just outstanding!  He is very positive and    supportive, very patient.  My brother just loves him.  He has done everything I have asked him to do.  Not only does he follow directions from myself or others, for example when a physiotherapist asks him to carry out an exercise  program, he is also proactive in being able to identify Steve’s needs.  Steve is very engaged with  Seminoli.  Seminoli persists in finding ways to meet Steve’s needs.

Ann D, client’s sister
The Tapestry, Eatonville, Etobicoke


Bailey & Anne Marie both have a great sense of humour and they are very caring also

Ann T, client’s wife.
Etobicoke


Angeline started working with us on a regular rotation this spring. She has definitely become part of our very close knit team whose mission is to make sure that the last stages of living are as comfortable and meaningful as they can make it. Every person on the DLH team who has had a chance to connect with Angeline has commented on her quiet, positive demeanor and her beautiful smile. Thank you, Angeline for becoming part of our family.

Debra,
Dorothey Ley Hospice, Etobicoke


Alba is a fantastic CAREGiver. She is very caring and compassionate. She is able to communicate well with others and my father adores her! My father has improved over the last few weeks and I know Alba played a big part in that. Congratulations Alba!

Annette
Centennial Park, Etobicoke


Ashley, Nailia, Alpha, Nancy & Trupti are great and they’re doing a good job!

Audrey W.
Lambton, Etobicoke


Girlie is always smiling but what especially stands out about her is that she maintains a positive attitude often in difficult circumstances. She shows such enthusiasm for her role as a CAREGiver. Before she leaves every day, she reviews her client's needs to ensure everything is set out for others involved in the client's care.  She truly goes 'above and beyond'.  Girlie is very caring and shows great respect for her client.  It is a pleasure to have her as part of this client's care team.

Suzette C., Tapestry
Eatonville, Etobicoke


Josephine has been with our Mom for quite some time now and has always been extremely reliable, competent and someone we can count on.  But even more, Josephine’s approach to her job is caring and compassionate.  She has always been a calming and reassuring CAREGiver especially during times when our Mom is anxious or confused.  We are so glad to have Josephine looking after our sweet Mom  - it gives us great peace of mind.  Thank you Josephine!  We all think you deserve this recognition!

  client’s daughter
Jamestown, North Etobicoke


Marivic has a great personality and is very obliging. She is a diligent worker and is always looking for things to do. My wife and I greatly appreciate her help and are grateful for all that she has done for us.

Client
Humber Valley Village, Etobicoke


Dad had more than his fair share of health challenges in his last two months of life but many hands had helped make sure that the last part of his journey had been as comfortable for him as possible.
Your staff is wonderful.  It offered the family great comfort when we could leave Dad's room and know that he was in good hands  - that there was someone there to assist him when he needed it - through every challenge he faced.
Your staff are compassionate, patient and professional people (I even had Janet and Le calling or texting me for updates on Dad's condition)
Please thank your entire staff on behalf of my family.

Karen
Etobicoke


Maria is a kind and caring individual, who is doing a fine job with my father. She arrives promptly, attends to meal preparation with efficiency, and always finds time to socialize with him during her visits. Maria has a cheerful, positive attitude, appreciated by both my father and family members. She laughs easily and deals with changes to schedules with flexibility. Getting to know her clients is important to Maria and she goes the extra distance to pamper my dad and make him feel special. It makes me feel relieved to know that Maria is there to take care of my dad when I cannot be at the house.

Adrian Stanowski.
Markland Woods, Etobicoke


Read more testimonials

Learn More

Rates & Hours

We can tailor a home care arrangement to fit both your family's lifestyle and budget.

Read More
Careers

Reap rewards beyond measure -- and get paid, too.

Read More
Our Story

As a locally owned business, we offer friendly, responsive service right in your neighbourhood.

Read More ​​​
​ ​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​
Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Sign up for advice

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Please select at least one newsletter.
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample
By submitting your email address, you consent to receive emails from Home Instead, Inc. You can withdraw your consent at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy or contact us for more details.