Clients' Reviews

​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Home Instead Senior Care ReviewsRead what other families in Hamilton, Dundas, Ancaster and surrounding areas have to say about Home Instead Senior Care®:​​

Latest Reviews & Testimonials :​

 

"My sister used your services for several weeks. Everything went really well. Veronica was a very nice and caring lady. She was ready to help in any way. She took her to the doctor, shopping and doing things in the house. My sister enjoyed her company very very much. Veronica was a gentle and caring lady. I would definitely recommend them and plan to call them again if the need arises, Thank you Home Instead."

Posted by Elizabeth M., client's sister on Jul 03 2017

"What a blessing it was finding Home Instead Senior Care. A friend highly recommended them and when my family member required help, I spoke to Taylor from Home Instead and immediately, felt the love and care that they put into helping families find a perfect match. Jeremy came to visit on a Saturday and it was apparent that they really care. My Godmother loved her caregiver and the time that she spent with her on a weekly basis. She helped with daily chores, laundry etc, after hip surgery recovery. Thank you, for the peace of mind in knowing that to Home Instead relationships really matter. It brought peace of mind to all of us knowing that our family member was in really good hands. Thank you so much."

Posted by Anne S., client's granddaughter on Jun 10 2017

"I have found Home Instead to be highly professional and very compassionate. Lou looks after my senior parents, she is a hard worker who always has a smile on here face. It is also an asset that Lou speaks Italian helping with my parents needs as the conversations just flow. Thank you Home Instead but a special thank you to you Lou., my parents always look forward to seeing you. Sandra"

Posted by Sandra R., client's daughter on Feb 20 2017

"Leaving a review from my mother, she so appreciates the amazing extents employees and this company goes to to help in every facet of care she faces with her aging husband. They are always so happy to help and listen to the needs of those wanting to keep their family members home. If you want the same for your family member, this is the company you need.  "

Posted by Kelvin M., client's son on Feb 14 2017

"Home Instead has been a god send. They take the time to ensure the PSW is the right fit for my mom. They drive her to appointments and hive us detailed feedback. Their care and service is second to none."

Posted by Colleen E., client's daughter on Jan 16 2017

"Home Instead has been a god send. They take the time to ensure the PSW is the right fit for my mom. They drive her to appointments and hive us detailed feedback. Their care and service is second to none."

Posted by Colleen E., client's daughter on Jan 13 2017

"I can't say enough great things about this company! The management, office, and of course the front line care providers are just fantastic! I am highly recommending this company to anyone that needs care and support. Thanks for all your help to the great staff at Home Instead!"

Posted by Gino Y., Client on Sep 15 2016

"I have found Home Instead to be highly professional and very compassionate. Lou looks after my senior parents, she is a hard worker who always has a smile on here face. It is also an asset that Lou speaks Italian helping with my parents needs as the conversations just flow. Thank you Home Instead but a special thank you to you Lou., my parents always look forward to seeing you. Sandra"

Posted by Sandra R., client's daughter on Sep 12 2016

"I have had the pleasure of dealing with Home Instead for over three months. They are reliable, and adaptable to the needs of their clients. The lines of communication between the care givers, the head office, and the family of the client are always open, and any concerns or problems are dealt with immediately. I would not hesitate to recommend this company to anyone who is considering home care for themselves or a relative as a viable option instead of nursing home care."

Posted by Judy on Feb 14 2016

"They are great people,they take good care of your needs and make you feel special."

Posted by Tino G. on Jan 22 2016

 

"My family and I would highly recommend using the services of Home Instead Senior Care. This team has provided excellent care to our Uncle who suffers from Alzheimer's and refuses to go into long-term care. Their services have provided peace of mind to our family. Our caregiver, Mary, has been instrumental in encouraging our Uncle to do things he otherwise didn't want to do, like showering ! Not only does she provide him excellent care, but she's become a true companion and friend, and he frequently tells us how much he likes her. This firm goes above and beyond in ensuring their clients needs are being met. Diane Langan, the Client Care Coordinator, has made personal visits to his residence. This is not something we expected ! Thank you team for being an important part of helping to ensure our Uncle is safe and well taken care of."

C. Wilkinson, client's niece


"Home Instead provided me with excellent home care workers when I needed them after surgery;. I have nothing but praise for the care I was given . Diane Langan was such a pleasant and caring coordinator of the services given to me. I would highly recommend Home Instead. "

Pat B., client


"This review is for my Dad's caregiver - Ian is a hardworking, compassionate professional who takes pride in his job and provides quality care. Knowledge, understanding and experience is imperative when working with clients with this type of head injury. Ian has demonstrated the knowhow and patience to assist Dad. Dad is always treated with kindness, respect and dignity. Ian has brought serenity into our lives and has provided Dad with a sense of independence. Ian is a great match for Dad. Thank you Home Instead for placing Ian in our lives, and thank you Ian for providing topnotch service and care!"

Fernanda C., client's daughter


"When my Mom was diagnosed with dementia, I was at a loss as to how to help her. I can't say enough about the care and compassion she has received from her caregiver, Marilisa at Home Instead. She has been such an important part of my Mom's life though the declining stages of this terrible disease. Mom regularly called Marilisa her guardian angel and I agree wholeheartedly. Debbie, daughter of client"

Debbie O., client's daughter


"It has been such a comfort to know that caregivers from Home Instead visit with my father daily. There are many miles that separate our family, so knowing Dad is in good hands makes it easier for us. Their kindness & attention to detail do not go unnoticed. The office staff are very good at juggling the schedule & offering suggestions to improve the time spent with him. They are willing to accommodate many little extras that would be difficult to accomplish from afar. Thank you to the entire team !"

Donna G., client's daughter


"I am writing this review for my mom Lillian who is the primary caregiver for my grandmother. She has been diagnosed with dementia and Alzheimer’s and has been very difficult to take care of. Having the help from Home Instead has been a life saver for my mom. They are considerate of my mom’s situation are are always there to help when needed. I would also like to recognize Daniela Yepez who has been more then helpful and understanding towards my mom and the needs for my grandmother. We are so are very blessed to have Home Instead as a service provider for my grandmother."

Michelle P., client's granddaughter


"Home Instead has been providing care for our mom over the last several years. It's been a very positive experience and I appreciate their proactive approach to care and the focus on the relationship between the client and caregiver. Having a regular caregiver has been so important and beneficial, It's been such a pleasant experience having Home Instead delivering care for our mom and their systems and follow-up are unparalleled. They are simply the best at home care. Thank you Home Instead!"

Martin F., client's son


"The caregivers are amazing! They are very supportive and step in to do what is needed! We have been very blessed to have consistent caregivers who do what needs to be done without be told or asked The office is also very understanding and supportive of my family's needs and looks at us as a whole, understanding the complexity of family life. When one member of the family has an illness it affects all members of the family and Home Instead "gets it" Again very grateful to have Home Instead in my home supporting us all!"

Sonia C., client's wife


My aunt was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease 7 months ago. I am her primary caregiver, but I live >800km away and I discovered a few months after moving her into a private retirement home that the care provided by the retirement home was insufficient to meet her needs. Colleen has been my aunt’s caregiver for the past 5 months and she has had such a positive impact on her quality of life. My aunt has always been a fiercely independent person and I think was concerned that her independence would be taken away with the diagnosis. Without close family or friends nearby, Colleen’s care and companionship allows her to maintain some of that independence, a key element in the maintenance of dignity in the face of a life-altering disease. As I live so far away, Collen has become my eyes and ears ensuring that my aunt has necessary household supplies, snacks, and is able to attend medical appointments. Colleen has gone above and beyond to make sure that my aunt is well taken care of and I know my aunt really appreciates her and truly enjoys her companionship. Although we have never directly spoken with each other, I feel like Colleen is a trusted family member. Shanyce’s weekly updates and responsiveness to my emails are incredibly reassuring. I am very grateful for the services provided by the staff at Home Instead.

Lynn G., client's niece


Caregivers from Home Instead (H.I.) are allowing me to keep my husband, who has Alzheimer’s, at home, where he is happy, as long as possible. While the caregivers tend to my husband’s needs, I get a break so that I can get out to socialize, be intellectually stimulated, and attend aquafit classes. Without H.I., I’d likely be stuck at home 24/7 and risk caregiver burnout or severe depression. Our current caregiver is wonderful and she, my husband and I get along very well, as H.I. makes it a priority to find a good fit between the client and the caregiver. Our caregiver is very attentive and responsive to my husband’s needs by preparing his brunch and making sure that he has all the coffee that he wants and that the water in his hot water bottle is actually hot. She actively engages him in conversation and activities such as looking at photo albums. She straightens his bed after he wakes up or has a nap and makes sure that he is safe. Our caregiver has also been a great help to me with light housekeeping, and when she finishes her shift, everything is always neat and tidy, leaving me free to do my other tasks such as shopping, banking, bill paying, gardening, arranging for house repairs and all of the other things that need to be done in order to keep a house functioning smoothly. I’m very impressed with H.I.’s oversight and procedures; for example, H.I. has a 24/7 call centre; the H.I. client representative always personally introduces new caregivers to clients; if a caregiver is late arriving, the caregiver is required to phone the H.I. call centre and the H.I. person on call phones and informs the client. If a caregiver is ill and cannot make their shift, H.I. informs the client and offers to find a substitute caregiver. All caregivers are required to sign in and sign out from their shift with head office. If there are virtually any issues at the client’s home, the caregiver can phone the H.I. call centre to find a resolution. In addition, the H.I. client representative regularly visits each client’s home for quality assurance and to assess the client’s satisfaction. I feel very happy and secure with Home Instead’s service.

Mara G., client's wife


Their kind and dedicated caregivers made a significant difference to the last year of my mother’s life and our family’s peace of mind. Highly recommended.

Judy I., client's daughter


Very caring, responsive service. Thanks for stepping in during a very stressful time to care for our father.

Adrienne J., client's daughter


An amazing experience over the last 5 plus years. They are responsive and eager to address ongoing changes and circumstances. Very thorough, follow up fantastic and allow my mom to maintain an independent lifestyle otherwise unattainable.

Daniele R., client's daughter


I would like to thank the Home Instead staff for all the help I receive while caring for my husband. Dorothy J. who assists my husband is not only a professional at her job as a Caregiver, she loves being a Caregiver and it shows in her demenor, confidence and helpful attitude the moment she walks into our home. I am at peace when I can tend to my other responsibilities and know that my husband is being cared for by Dorothy J. with compassion, experience and above all competence. I can see the high level of trust that my husband has in Dorothy, not only that she is able to communicate with him in his native Polish language, but because I can see that they have become Friends. With such help my life is that much more hopeful for the future.

Nina J., client's wife


Paul, Rosie, Suzette and the rest of the team at Home Instead have been amazing. My mom has Alzheimer's and recently moved into a retirement home. The transition was very difficult for her and for me, but the team at Home Instead has been very helpful and patient with all my questions and last minute requests. They always have Mom's best interest in mind. I don't know what we would have done without them.

Fiorella R., client's daughter


Home Instead has been a god send for my family. My mother suffers from Parkinson's disease and dementia and this journey has been nothing but heartbreaking. Thank goodness for the staff at Home Instead who always manage to find someone to help us care for our mother in ways that show they truly do care. Keeping her at home and safe is our priority and clearly the team at Home Instead does too. From the head office staff Paul, Rosie and Erika to the numerous caregivers who have come into our lives. We could not manage without them and have found Home Instead to be as important in my mother's care as we are. Thank you to all of you for helping us navigating these very difficult days.

Lynda L., client's daughter


Words can not express the gratitude that I feel for Home Instead Caregivers and office staff. For the past three years they have provided excellent service for my Dad and step-mother. My Dad had several strokes and was on the very long waiting list for a nursing home. The Caregivers have helped him live at home with respect and dignity. If he had gone to a nursing home the anxiety of being separated from his wife would have been detrimental to his health as well as my step-mother's. The Caregivers are well trained professionals that provide loving, kind and patient help where it is needed most. They adapted easily not only to health changes but also mood changes. They were able to recognize and let us know when changes in equipment, supplies and schedules would make life easier for our parents. For the family, the stress of worrying about our parents was relieved by knowing that the BEST Caregivers were there to look after them. Thank you for helping my Dad live his final days in the way that he wanted to!!!

Carmen H., clients' daughter


Mercy of Home Instead have not only changed my parents life....but our whole family! When soliciting feedback from my mother on the care Mercy provides on a daily basis, her whole face lights up and without hesitation I really like Mercy! She is fun and always has a joke or two. We bake together and I show her the different things I know... I'm not sure how you place a value on that....but knowing she is caring for my mother and father alleviates stress and pressure. Paul Alavathil the Director of Client Care and Mary Mantei our Client Care Coordinator are a wonderful team with active communication and tremendous response not only when we began this journey but continuously. They understand client service and respect for the elderly. My parents really want to remain in their home for as long as possible. Home Instead and specifically Mercy, Mary and Paul are allowing that to happen. Many Many Thanks!

Cliff B., client's son


I have been sick for over 2 months. I am the primary caregiver of 2 elderly parents. I could not have survived if it were not for the excellent service provided by Home Instead. The caregivers were a life saver. Sajay, Angie and the others cared for my parents. They cooked their meals, cleaned, looked after their personal needs, even caring for my cat. My recuperation from the long term illness was made easier with my feedback from Marie, Michelle and other Home Instead co-ordinators. My parents were treated with respect, no complaints by any members of my family. I would 100% recommend Home Instead to any one who needs assistance on a regular basis, days, nights, 24/7 help. They are the best.

Grace G., clients' daughter


We were very pleased with the service from Home Instead. On the phone, they were patient, approachable, helpful and clear in their communications. Our caregiver was a wonderful lady who provided friendly and kind care to my mother. All this was much appreciated.

Jean N., client's daughter


Home Instead has been an absolute life saver for our family. Their professionalism in taking care of my mom has given us the peace of mind knowing that someone who truly cares was there for my mom. Her caregiver-Navpreet- was so sweet. She took my mom for walks, helped her with light house work and was just so patient and caring. When my mom moved into LTC, Navpreet assisted with the transition period which made it that much easier for my mom to adjust to her new home. I would recommend Home Instead to anyone who needs friendly, loving care.

Toni D., client's son


It took quite a bit of coordination to provide 24 hour care when my father became ill - in the hospital, at home waiting for surgery and then post surgery. Thanks to all the caregivers, but especially Sheena who was there every week day , 9-5 which gave some stability to the revolving door of people that supported Dad during this difficult time. She was a joy to work with and Sheena was always doing something to make the experience better for Dad. I sensed Dad wanted to take her to Florida with him! Thank you.

Lanee B., client's daughter


Caregivers from Home Instead (H.I.) are allowing me to keep my husband, who has Alzheimer’s, at home, where he is happy, as long as possible. While the caregivers tend to my husband’s needs, I get a break so that I can get out to socialize, be intellectually stimulated, and attend aquafit classes. Without H.I., I’d likely be stuck at home 24/7 and risk caregiver burnout or severe depression. Our current caregiver is wonderful and she, my husband and I get along very well, as H.I. makes it a priority to find a good fit between the client and the caregiver. Our caregiver is very attentive and responsive to my husband’s needs by preparing his brunch and making sure that he has all the coffee that he wants and that the water in his hot water bottle is actually hot. She actively engages him in conversation and activities such as looking at photo albums. She straightens his bed after he wakes up or has a nap and makes sure that he is safe. Our caregiver has also been a great help to me with light housekeeping, and when she finishes her shift, everything is always neat and tidy, leaving me free to do my other tasks such as shopping, banking, bill paying, gardening, arranging for house repairs and all of the other things that need to be done in order to keep a house functioning smoothly. I’m very impressed with H.I.’s oversight and procedures; for example, H.I. has a 24/7 call centre; the H.I. client representative always personally introduces new caregivers to clients; if a caregiver is late arriving, the caregiver is required to phone the H.I. call centre and the H.I. person on call phones and informs the client. If a caregiver is ill and cannot make their shift, H.I. informs the client and offers to find a substitute caregiver. All caregivers are required to sign in and sign out from their shift with head office. If there are virtually any issues at the client’s home, the caregiver can phone the H.I. call centre to find a resolution. In addition, the H.I. client representative regularly visits each client’s home for quality assurance and to assess the client’s satisfaction. I feel very happy and secure with Home Instead’s service.

Mara G., client's wife


Once again Home Instead has proven to be an amazing company.
This past weekend I needed a caregiver on short notice because of an emergency situation. Rosie Jabbal and Mackenzie Veldboom jumped right in and worked in tandem to find someone suitable.
I don't know what I would have done without their help. They are like angels that come to the rescue when everything is falling apart. A heartfelt thank you to them both.

W.G.


Home Instead has been an invaluable service for our family.  My sister, who lived with Mom, passed away unexpectedly last June and both my other sister and I live out of the province. Having a caregiver from Home Instead has allowed Mom to remain at home and keep her independence.
Caregiver Patty has been with Mom since last summer and provides help with household tasks as well as companionship. She visits twice a week for a couple of hours each time. My Mom likes the routine of having the same person visit her and we appreciate knowing that she is looked after.
Patty is a wonderful caregiver. She is patient, kind, honest, and reliable. She gives us peace of mind knowing that Mom has someone to help her and that we will be notified should there be any concerns.
We have utmost respect for Home Instead as a service company for seniors and hold Patty in the highest regard. We recommend Home Instead without hesitation for anyone needing help with their loved one.
Thank you and have a wonderful day.

client's daughter


We are so pleased that we found Home Instead whilst we were in Canada looking after my husband's 96 year old mother, taking her every day to visit her husband who was in hospital with a broken femur. We live in the UK and the peace of mind that Home Instead have given us is immeasurable. My husband's parents are once again back in their apartment with Home Instead visiting them on a regular basis, not only keeping the apartment clean and tidy but also taking them to various appointments. We contacted Home Instead online and they are so quick to respond. I want to thank, not only their carer but also all the staff in the office with whom we have dealt with over the past 4 months. Cheers Home Instead and thank you.

Pat Walker, client's daughter-in-law


I just wanted to write and thank everyone for the wonderful care my mom (Monica) has received over this past year. Right from the beginning when my mom was still in the hospital back in August 2014, any requests or questions were answered and taken care of immediately. From the beginning, your CAREgivers Karrie Ann and Lucelia were absolutely wonderful for my mom and made her feel safe and comfortable in her new home. Thank you to the night shift girls, you made us feel safe at night. My family can’t thank you enough for all of the warm, compassionate care Monica received this past year! Thank you again to everyone at Home Instead

Liz & family, client’s daughter, Hamilton


I had the pleasure of meeting caregiver Bernie after I had surgery in April. Bernie was such an amazing help to myself and my family. She came in to our home and knew immediately what she needed to do. I truly believe that my recovery was a much smoother one because of Bernie.
Home Instead Senior Care was efficient and knowledgeable. They knew exactly what I needed, and paired me with the perfect caregiver. I would not hesitate to recommend Home Instead Senior Care to anyone for short term or long term care.

Susan Shemilt, client


The Home Instead Care Givers were wonderful with my Dad. They responded rapidly to our changing needs and it was such a relief to know we could count on them in all the unexpected emergencies that arose with caring for a sick parent while living in a different city. They were caring and patient and quickly gained my Dad's trust and friendship. I would recommend them highly and with no hesitations.

Tony M., client's son


I highly recommend Home Instead. I have dealt with both the Mississauga and Halton teams and they are both professional, organized and caring. For the last year, Mom's companion has been Michelle. Michelle has supported and helped Mom through her transition to a new facility and her challenging journey.
Thanks Michelle and Home Instead!

Paul Lawson, client’s son


Thank you all at Home Instead! The service was very professional from the start until long-term care placement of my mother who suffers with Dementia. The weekly visits by Lesya were always met with enthusiasm - very caring and helpful in her assistance - as I knew my mother was in good hands while in her care. More than a worthy mention to the Care Coordinator who was very eager to help in coordinating assistance and making sure everything was going well and all too helpful in answering any (and many) questions. In hindsight, I don't know how I'd manage without the extra help from Home Instead. Thank you all.

Stephan C, client’s son


My husband has been dealing with health problems and I am still working full time, I am grateful for the help Home Instead have provided me. The care providers are very friendly, caring and knowledgeable. They have been so reliable, I was able to leave for a two week visit to Australia to see my parents, knowing that he will be in good care. The Administrators are very experienced, it was never any hassle when we have to change the visiting time due to appointments and other engagements. In general, when I call to the office, it doesn't matter who answers the phone, I feel like they all know me and can't wait to assist me. That is a good feeling and I thank you.

Catherine Graney, client’s daughter


Home Instead responded in a timely manner and assigned appropriate caregivers even when our mother’s care needs changed . All staff were professional and caring and treated our elderly mom with respect and dignity. Many went above and beyond their assigned role to ensure mom’s comfort. I would recommend Home Instead to other families.

Pat Norman, client’s daughter


Upon meeting the representative from Home Instead we were immediately at ease. Conversation and our desires were warmly received. Even though our indecision lingered, when I called Home Instead in a panic in an emergency situation, I was again warmly received. I was patiently listened to and in a extremely short timeline Home Instead was able to assist me with someone who willingly and graciously 'filled the bill'.

Cecilia








Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Sign up for advice

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Please select at least one newsletter.
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample
By submitting your email address, you consent to receive emails from Home Instead, Inc. You can withdraw your consent at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy or contact us for more details.