Clients' Reviews

​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Home Instead Senior Care ReviewsRead what other families in Hamilton, Dundas, Ancaster and surrounding areas have to say about Home Instead Senior Care®:​​

Latest Reviews & Testimonials :​

 

"Once we discussed my father’s needs it became clear to me that he was in good hands. My father is in a home needing dementia care, companionship and assistance withthings in his everyday life like getting dressed and using the bathroom, we’re getting most difficult for him. Graziano and Isaac are so good with him that my father looks forward to them arriving everyday. He is in amazing hands; I feel like I have left him with family when I can’t be there. They make it possible for me to breathe and worry less. I highly recommend this service. There isn’t any lengths they won’t go to so you have the best care for your loved one; either at home, or in a home. Thanks, Amelia"

Posted by Amelia P., client's daughter on Jun 26 2019

"My 92 year old father received constant care from Home Instead, in a hospital setting, in addition to that normally provided by the hospital. I’m not overstating the situation to say I don’t know what I would have done without their help. In spite of the best efforts by overtaxed hospital staff before, during and after Dad’s surgery, he fell while in the bathroom. I called Home Instead and, with Gabriella’s assistance, support began almost at once. Support workers seemed handpicked to match Dad’s health needs and personality. Isaac was devoted to Dad. Herbalynhad a talent for calming Dad during restless nights. Dad felt safe and valued. Family knew Dad was not alone, that his needs were met without delay. Dad passed away with warm and constant care. Thank-you Home Instead."

Posted by Karen l., client's daughter on Jun 23 2019

"My 95 year old mother was staying with me in Hamilton when she suffered a severe TIA and was hospitalized. Her TIA left her very confused and disoriented, and being in a different city in a different hospital with new doctors, she was really anxious, and wanted to be able to get up from her hospital bed to leave and come back to our home. She needed someone to stay with her to calm her down and remind her to stay relaxed. If she was on her own, she would have been confused and would have tried to get up on her own and she would very likely have fallen. Mom received excellent care, but nurses and hospital staff work so hard however they are just so busy that they unfortunately don’t have the ability to do this. We wanted to have someone with her at all times so she could get better and be able to come home. The first night my sister and I were able to stay with her, but for the second night we were just too tired to be able to stay up all night again. We asked Home Instead if they could provide a caregiver to stay with her when we couldn’t. Gabriela was very kind and understanding and was able to quickly arrange for a caregiver for that evening. The caregiver she chose, Lida, was very caring and professional. She definitely was very qualified and experienced. Lida was wonderful and very friendly with my mom, and soon put her at ease. She sat with my mom during the night to calm her when she woke up, to call for a nurse when she needed help, and to help her have breakfast. My mom was very pleased with Lida and asked for her again. Home Instead was there for us when we needed them. Looking after my mom, but also looking after us, allowing us to rest because we felt mom was safe and relaxed with Lida. When my mother was well enough she returned home to the care of her own doctor. Unfortunately as my mom lived in another city, we were unable to continue care with Lida and Home Instead Hamilton. We would definitely recommend Home Instead, and were very pleased with both Lida, who was the perfect choice for my mom, and Gabriela who was professional and caring, and did a wonderful job matching them and following through afterwards with us to make sure my mom was doing well. They both did a super job and we will always remember the great care they both provided. Thank you Home Instead."

Posted by Marjorie S.,client's daughter on Jun 21 2019

"My sister used your services for several weeks. Everything went really well. Veronica was a very nice and caring lady. She was ready to help in any way. She took her to the doctor, shopping and doing things in the house. My sister enjoyed her company very very much. Veronica was a gentle and caring lady. I would definitely recommend them and plan to call them again if the need arises, Thank you Home Instead."

Posted by Elizabeth M., client's sister on Jul 03 2017

"What a blessing it was finding Home Instead Senior Care. A friend highly recommended them and when my family member required help, I spoke to Taylor from Home Instead and immediately, felt the love and care that they put into helping families find a perfect match. Jeremy came to visit on a Saturday and it was apparent that they really care. My Godmother loved her caregiver and the time that she spent with her on a weekly basis. She helped with daily chores, laundry etc, after hip surgery recovery. Thank you, for the peace of mind in knowing that to Home Instead relationships really matter. It brought peace of mind to all of us knowing that our family member was in really good hands. Thank you so much."

Posted by Anne S., client's granddaughter on Jun 10 2017

"I have found Home Instead to be highly professional and very compassionate. Lou looks after my senior parents, she is a hard worker who always has a smile on here face. It is also an asset that Lou speaks Italian helping with my parents needs as the conversations just flow. Thank you Home Instead but a special thank you to you Lou., my parents always look forward to seeing you. Sandra"

Posted by Sandra R., client's daughter on Feb 20 2017

"Leaving a review from my mother, she so appreciates the amazing extents employees and this company goes to to help in every facet of care she faces with her aging husband. They are always so happy to help and listen to the needs of those wanting to keep their family members home. If you want the same for your family member, this is the company you need.  "

Posted by Kelvin M., client's son on Feb 14 2017

"Home Instead has been a god send. They take the time to ensure the PSW is the right fit for my mom. They drive her to appointments and hive us detailed feedback. Their care and service is second to none."

Posted by Colleen E., client's daughter on Jan 16 2017

"Home Instead has been a god send. They take the time to ensure the PSW is the right fit for my mom. They drive her to appointments and hive us detailed feedback. Their care and service is second to none."

Posted by Colleen E., client's daughter on Jan 13 2017

"I can't say enough great things about this company! The management, office, and of course the front line care providers are just fantastic! I am highly recommending this company to anyone that needs care and support. Thanks for all your help to the great staff at Home Instead!"

Posted by Gino Y., Client on Sep 15 2016

 

"Without the excellent care Home Instead has provided to our uncle over the last year, he would not have been able to remain in his home and continue to live alone. He required assistance with personal hygiene, meal prep, housekeeping and general day to day tasks. Home Instead was able to meet all our needs for his care, and they did it all with kindness, thoughtfulness and respect. 
From his caregivers Mary and Bernie, supervisor Diane and the rest of the Home Instead team, all provided care with the utmost professionalism, caring and understanding. 
Whenever Mary or Bernie were with our uncle, we were comfortable that he was being well taken care of. We also appreciated the constant feedback from the caregivers as well as Diane. We worked together with our uncle's best interests as a common goal. 
We highly recommend Home Instead if you require assistance with caring for a loved one."

Cher P., client's niece


"Our mother is 90 and determined to stay in her own home. That meant finding the right kind of support to permit her to do that. Home Instead connected us with Janyce Robinson and she’s been fabulous. Janyce provides companionship, transportation to appointments, light housekeeping, meal preparation and anything else she can think of to assist. Our mother loves her time with her – she has a happy disposition, is easy to be with and is also very kind. We feel lucky to have found her.!"

Carmen T., client's daughter


"This is the second time we have used Home Instead Senior Care and, once again, the service was superb. The office staff were supportive, responsive and very well organized. Our caregiver, Irene, immediately established a rapport with my mother, who had just been discharged from hospital. Irene was friendly, kind, resourceful and careful. At one point, she felt a developing situation required her to check with me to see how she should proceed. I was very impressed that she recognized a need for more input but, once we had discussed the problem, she followed through flawlessly. I felt I could have complete confidence in her ability to care for my mother, and keep me informed on developments. Wonderful!"

Jane N., client's daughter


"I used HomeInstead for care for my father while I went on vacation. I provided very detailed instructions and everything was followed. He was happy so I was happy. I will definitely use their services in the future again when needed."

Sarina D., client's daughter


"I am the primary caregiver to my 90 yr old Mother for 7 years now. It was becoming quite overwhelming as I was not getting quality time with my family or for myself. An anxiety attack sent me to the Dr. where they set me up with caregiver respite. Kerri started with us 1 year ago and what a difference for us all. 
 had a very hard time giving over the reins for a few hours the first few weeks I must admit, but Kerri proved herself and i began to see my Mom looking forward to her visits. Kerri has a warmth about her and always smiling. She gets my Mom laughing and chatting. It didn't take long for me to relax and put my trust in Kerri. 
Home Instead always keeps me up to date and solves my issues efficiently. Receiving help was the best thing for us and allows me to continue doing what I do for my Mother."

Lee Ann, client's daughter


"My mother-in-law suffers from dementia but insists on staying in her home. There is no way this would be possible without the invaluable assistance from Home Instead Senior Care. We tried another agency before, but with Home Instead, we found the perfect caregiver match in Hiroko. Mom and Hiroko have developed such a caring, trusting relationship, that mom sometimes makes comments such as "I wish I could show this to Hiroko" or "I wish Hiroko was here". Hiroko finds a great balance between mom's wants and needs. This is incredibly useful for us. No agency is perfect, but this is as close as it can get. When there have been small issues, Home Instead has acted quickly and responsibly to address the problem to our satisfaction. We happily recommend Home Instead to friends and family."

Sonia H., client's daughter-in-law


"Patty has been a companion to my husband for at least over a year. She is dedicated, kind, thoughtful and treats him with the greatest of respect. While my husband no longer remembers people, he knows Patty instantly. I can not image our lives without her. I can not thank Patty enough for all that she does, for every day that she is there, for every kindness she has brought to our lives. Thank you Patty"

Susan L., clients' wife


"Our family would like to give a shout out to Home Instead for the great care they are currently providing for our aging parents. Both parents are in their 90s. One with Alzheimer’s and limited mobility, the other with a blood disease and experiencing a significant decline in overall health. 
We’ve had great communication with Home Instead’s office team and Agnes, the Care Coordinator, who does so much to help with our ever changing schedule and care needs. 
The biggest thanks goes out to Care Giver Jennifer. Most importantly, she has become a reliable advocate for our father’s care during his endless appointments and hospital visits. From fixing damaged eye glasses, to helping with basic computer problems, to light housekeeping and organizing the suite, Jennifer is really improving the quality of life our parents are experiencing. "

Peter A., clients' son


"We have reached out to Home Instead for my father, and have received excellent care - especially from Genevieve and Daniela. Daniela helps coordinates my father’s case. She is very patient and a great listener. She is very compassionate and soft spoken. I also shared how my mother needs more support as well and she said that she’ll advocate for her. I really appreciate her support and kindness. Genevieve comes over to help my parents. My mother really adores her. She has been very kind to my mother as my father is bed ridden. Genevieve goes out of her way to be kind and supportive, she is an absolute jewel. We are grateful for the support of Genevieve and Daniela."

Uzma H., client's  daughter


"Home Instead has become an integral component in our parents care and independence. Everyone we've dealt with at the organization is professional, dedicated, and compassionate. As my siblings and I are spread over a large geography (Seattle, Meaford, Parry Sound, and north of the GTA) in the past getting Mom and Dad to their various medical appointments in Toronto has been somewhat of a challenge due to pressure from careers and home life. Home Instead was the solution we were looking for to ensure that these appointments that are so important to our parents continued health didn't slip. 
From the outset our parents were somewhat suspicious of strangers in their home or escorting them to appointments but, after the first visit their concerns were alleviated. Both Mom & Dad are very comfortable with Jane Metcalfe as their driver and home companion as well as Michael and Kerry who in Jane's absence ensure Mom and Dad get to their appointments on time. My siblings and I appreciate that on appointments HI staff don't just drop our parents off but, accompany them to the appointment. This not only ensures that my siblings and I get accurate feedback captured by the HI staff from the medical staff but, that Mom & Dad don't feel abandoned in what can be an overwhelming experience terms of navigating hospitals and understanding medical staff feedback. 
I want to recognize the service excellence of Ildiko, Jane Metcalfe, Kerry Marshall, Michael and all the staff at Home Instead for the excellent quality of service and the comfort they provide our parents."

Adam C., clients' son


"I am a 55 year old single mother of 2 disabled adult children. My son has received Caregiver assistance for over 20 years. He has Cerebral Palsy, Autism and a Global Developmental Delay. I have received help from NUMEROUS AGENCIES. Namely Paramed, Acclaim, Care Partners, Links2Care and Home Instead. Most recently Home Instead provided a Caregiver to help with household activities related to my disabled children. Paul sent over an absolutely WONDERFUL LADY. Her name is . ROWAN. She is by far the BEST I have ever had!. She works extremely hard, is very detailed, very cooperative, punctual, pleasant and overall a wonderful human being. She is a perfect fit for our family. Thank you Paul and Rowan at Home Instead!"

Leanne G., client's mother


"The care was very professional , very kind, I am very happy & will recommend them to my friends & anybody"

Giacomo C., client


"Home Instead has been a lifesaver for me. I live 250 miles from my eldery mother, and knowing that she has excellent care to remain in her home is a great comfort for me. Nicky her caregiver is a wonderful person and very attentive to moms needs, and her quirks as well. She is never late and is willing to see mom when she is in the hospital, an extra bonus. Diane provides regular updates on how mom is doing. Something I did not get from another service. All of the staff are very friendly and accommodating if you have a question/concern. I cannot reccommend Home Instead highly enough. 10/10"

client's  son


"Our family is so grateful to Home Instead Mississauga for the companions that have visited our brother! He bonded completely with the first person that was brought to him and we were devastated when that person decided to move on to a different phase of his life, but the second gentleman has also made friends with our brother and continues to fill a very important role that no care home can possibly fill; personal talk about subjects of interest to both of them. The office staff is always so helpful I think they all have wings because they have been absolute angels."

Eleanor L., client's sister


"Writing this review for the caregivers that supported my dad over an approximate 75 day period of need (and one that has provided monthly services for many years!). My dad took a drastic turn for the worse and was living alone - with family not being local and unable to accommodate him in home, we turned to Home Instead for support. All the caregivers were wonderful. I thank the day time ladies who provided short duration lunchtime support and care (Oma, Mercy and Ruth), and have to give a giant "shout out" to Gwen who provided the night-care "sleep over" service. She always supported with the utmost of patience and attention - above and beyond our expectations - allowing my dad to continue living with dignity until his move to a long term care facility. Kudo's to all (including Paul, our main contact who, along with the admin and supervisory team made scheduling and all other issues easy to navigate) - couldn't have asked for a better support group!"

Lynn H., client's  daughter


"My mother was very reluctant to receive any help when we first approached the idea, but she now looks forward to seeing Mary every week and keeps telling us what a pleasant person she is. We appreciate the fact that Mary is able to take her out on shopping expeditions and will spend time chatting with her after she has finished her shift."

Susan T., client's daughter


"Incredible dedication and compassion. When I have needed them, they have been there. Full service care in the home environment. They are doing a wonderful job helping me look after my parents at such a difficult time."

Heather R., clients' daughter


"I cannot praise this place enough. My boss was left short-staffed when one of his mother's caregivers abruptly quit just before the end-of-year holidays; the team at Home Instead took the reins immediately resolved a very stressful situation. We are so grateful for their excellent work. Cecilia was so helpful, communicative, and organized. She really made us feel cared for."

James S.


"My family and I would highly recommend using the services of Home Instead Senior Care. This team has provided excellent care to our Uncle who suffers from Alzheimer's and refuses to go into long-term care. Their services have provided peace of mind to our family. Our caregiver, Mary, has been instrumental in encouraging our Uncle to do things he otherwise didn't want to do, like showering ! Not only does she provide him excellent care, but she's become a true companion and friend, and he frequently tells us how much he likes her. This firm goes above and beyond in ensuring their clients needs are being met. Diane Langan, the Client Care Coordinator, has made personal visits to his residence. This is not something we expected ! Thank you team for being an important part of helping to ensure our Uncle is safe and well taken care of."

C. Wilkinson, client's niece


"Home Instead provided me with excellent home care workers when I needed them after surgery;. I have nothing but praise for the care I was given . Diane Langan was such a pleasant and caring coordinator of the services given to me. I would highly recommend Home Instead. "

Pat B., client


"This review is for my Dad's caregiver - Ian is a hardworking, compassionate professional who takes pride in his job and provides quality care. Knowledge, understanding and experience is imperative when working with clients with this type of head injury. Ian has demonstrated the knowhow and patience to assist Dad. Dad is always treated with kindness, respect and dignity. Ian has brought serenity into our lives and has provided Dad with a sense of independence. Ian is a great match for Dad. Thank you Home Instead for placing Ian in our lives, and thank you Ian for providing topnotch service and care!"

Fernanda C., client's daughter


"When my Mom was diagnosed with dementia, I was at a loss as to how to help her. I can't say enough about the care and compassion she has received from her caregiver, Marilisa at Home Instead. She has been such an important part of my Mom's life though the declining stages of this terrible disease. Mom regularly called Marilisa her guardian angel and I agree wholeheartedly. Debbie, daughter of client"

Debbie O., client's daughter


"It has been such a comfort to know that caregivers from Home Instead visit with my father daily. There are many miles that separate our family, so knowing Dad is in good hands makes it easier for us. Their kindness & attention to detail do not go unnoticed. The office staff are very good at juggling the schedule & offering suggestions to improve the time spent with him. They are willing to accommodate many little extras that would be difficult to accomplish from afar. Thank you to the entire team !"

Donna G., client's daughter


"I am writing this review for my mom Lillian who is the primary caregiver for my grandmother. She has been diagnosed with dementia and Alzheimer’s and has been very difficult to take care of. Having the help from Home Instead has been a life saver for my mom. They are considerate of my mom’s situation are are always there to help when needed. I would also like to recognize Daniela Yepez who has been more then helpful and understanding towards my mom and the needs for my grandmother. We are so are very blessed to have Home Instead as a service provider for my grandmother."

Michelle P., client's granddaughter


"Home Instead has been providing care for our mom over the last several years. It's been a very positive experience and I appreciate their proactive approach to care and the focus on the relationship between the client and caregiver. Having a regular caregiver has been so important and beneficial, It's been such a pleasant experience having Home Instead delivering care for our mom and their systems and follow-up are unparalleled. They are simply the best at home care. Thank you Home Instead!"

Martin F., client's son


"The caregivers are amazing! They are very supportive and step in to do what is needed! We have been very blessed to have consistent caregivers who do what needs to be done without be told or asked The office is also very understanding and supportive of my family's needs and looks at us as a whole, understanding the complexity of family life. When one member of the family has an illness it affects all members of the family and Home Instead "gets it" Again very grateful to have Home Instead in my home supporting us all!"

Sonia C., client's wife


My aunt was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease 7 months ago. I am her primary caregiver, but I live >800km away and I discovered a few months after moving her into a private retirement home that the care provided by the retirement home was insufficient to meet her needs. Colleen has been my aunt’s caregiver for the past 5 months and she has had such a positive impact on her quality of life. My aunt has always been a fiercely independent person and I think was concerned that her independence would be taken away with the diagnosis. Without close family or friends nearby, Colleen’s care and companionship allows her to maintain some of that independence, a key element in the maintenance of dignity in the face of a life-altering disease. As I live so far away, Collen has become my eyes and ears ensuring that my aunt has necessary household supplies, snacks, and is able to attend medical appointments. Colleen has gone above and beyond to make sure that my aunt is well taken care of and I know my aunt really appreciates her and truly enjoys her companionship. Although we have never directly spoken with each other, I feel like Colleen is a trusted family member. Shanyce’s weekly updates and responsiveness to my emails are incredibly reassuring. I am very grateful for the services provided by the staff at Home Instead.

Lynn G., client's niece


Caregivers from Home Instead (H.I.) are allowing me to keep my husband, who has Alzheimer’s, at home, where he is happy, as long as possible. While the caregivers tend to my husband’s needs, I get a break so that I can get out to socialize, be intellectually stimulated, and attend aquafit classes. Without H.I., I’d likely be stuck at home 24/7 and risk caregiver burnout or severe depression. Our current caregiver is wonderful and she, my husband and I get along very well, as H.I. makes it a priority to find a good fit between the client and the caregiver. Our caregiver is very attentive and responsive to my husband’s needs by preparing his brunch and making sure that he has all the coffee that he wants and that the water in his hot water bottle is actually hot. She actively engages him in conversation and activities such as looking at photo albums. She straightens his bed after he wakes up or has a nap and makes sure that he is safe. Our caregiver has also been a great help to me with light housekeeping, and when she finishes her shift, everything is always neat and tidy, leaving me free to do my other tasks such as shopping, banking, bill paying, gardening, arranging for house repairs and all of the other things that need to be done in order to keep a house functioning smoothly. I’m very impressed with H.I.’s oversight and procedures; for example, H.I. has a 24/7 call centre; the H.I. client representative always personally introduces new caregivers to clients; if a caregiver is late arriving, the caregiver is required to phone the H.I. call centre and the H.I. person on call phones and informs the client. If a caregiver is ill and cannot make their shift, H.I. informs the client and offers to find a substitute caregiver. All caregivers are required to sign in and sign out from their shift with head office. If there are virtually any issues at the client’s home, the caregiver can phone the H.I. call centre to find a resolution. In addition, the H.I. client representative regularly visits each client’s home for quality assurance and to assess the client’s satisfaction. I feel very happy and secure with Home Instead’s service.

Mara G., client's wife


Their kind and dedicated caregivers made a significant difference to the last year of my mother’s life and our family’s peace of mind. Highly recommended.

Judy I., client's daughter


Very caring, responsive service. Thanks for stepping in during a very stressful time to care for our father.

Adrienne J., client's daughter


An amazing experience over the last 5 plus years. They are responsive and eager to address ongoing changes and circumstances. Very thorough, follow up fantastic and allow my mom to maintain an independent lifestyle otherwise unattainable.

Daniele R., client's daughter


I would like to thank the Home Instead staff for all the help I receive while caring for my husband. Dorothy J. who assists my husband is not only a professional at her job as a Caregiver, she loves being a Caregiver and it shows in her demenor, confidence and helpful attitude the moment she walks into our home. I am at peace when I can tend to my other responsibilities and know that my husband is being cared for by Dorothy J. with compassion, experience and above all competence. I can see the high level of trust that my husband has in Dorothy, not only that she is able to communicate with him in his native Polish language, but because I can see that they have become Friends. With such help my life is that much more hopeful for the future.

Nina J., client's wife


Paul, Rosie, Suzette and the rest of the team at Home Instead have been amazing. My mom has Alzheimer's and recently moved into a retirement home. The transition was very difficult for her and for me, but the team at Home Instead has been very helpful and patient with all my questions and last minute requests. They always have Mom's best interest in mind. I don't know what we would have done without them.

Fiorella R., client's daughter


Home Instead has been a god send for my family. My mother suffers from Parkinson's disease and dementia and this journey has been nothing but heartbreaking. Thank goodness for the staff at Home Instead who always manage to find someone to help us care for our mother in ways that show they truly do care. Keeping her at home and safe is our priority and clearly the team at Home Instead does too. From the head office staff Paul, Rosie and Erika to the numerous caregivers who have come into our lives. We could not manage without them and have found Home Instead to be as important in my mother's care as we are. Thank you to all of you for helping us navigating these very difficult days.

Lynda L., client's daughter


Words can not express the gratitude that I feel for Home Instead Caregivers and office staff. For the past three years they have provided excellent service for my Dad and step-mother. My Dad had several strokes and was on the very long waiting list for a nursing home. The Caregivers have helped him live at home with respect and dignity. If he had gone to a nursing home the anxiety of being separated from his wife would have been detrimental to his health as well as my step-mother's. The Caregivers are well trained professionals that provide loving, kind and patient help where it is needed most. They adapted easily not only to health changes but also mood changes. They were able to recognize and let us know when changes in equipment, supplies and schedules would make life easier for our parents. For the family, the stress of worrying about our parents was relieved by knowing that the BEST Caregivers were there to look after them. Thank you for helping my Dad live his final days in the way that he wanted to!!!

Carmen H., clients' daughter


Mercy of Home Instead have not only changed my parents life....but our whole family! When soliciting feedback from my mother on the care Mercy provides on a daily basis, her whole face lights up and without hesitation I really like Mercy! She is fun and always has a joke or two. We bake together and I show her the different things I know... I'm not sure how you place a value on that....but knowing she is caring for my mother and father alleviates stress and pressure. Paul Alavathil the Director of Client Care and Mary Mantei our Client Care Coordinator are a wonderful team with active communication and tremendous response not only when we began this journey but continuously. They understand client service and respect for the elderly. My parents really want to remain in their home for as long as possible. Home Instead and specifically Mercy, Mary and Paul are allowing that to happen. Many Many Thanks!

Cliff B., client's son


I have been sick for over 2 months. I am the primary caregiver of 2 elderly parents. I could not have survived if it were not for the excellent service provided by Home Instead. The caregivers were a life saver. Sajay, Angie and the others cared for my parents. They cooked their meals, cleaned, looked after their personal needs, even caring for my cat. My recuperation from the long term illness was made easier with my feedback from Marie, Michelle and other Home Instead co-ordinators. My parents were treated with respect, no complaints by any members of my family. I would 100% recommend Home Instead to any one who needs assistance on a regular basis, days, nights, 24/7 help. They are the best.

Grace G., clients' daughter


We were very pleased with the service from Home Instead. On the phone, they were patient, approachable, helpful and clear in their communications. Our caregiver was a wonderful lady who provided friendly and kind care to my mother. All this was much appreciated.

Jean N., client's daughter


Home Instead has been an absolute life saver for our family. Their professionalism in taking care of my mom has given us the peace of mind knowing that someone who truly cares was there for my mom. Her caregiver-Navpreet- was so sweet. She took my mom for walks, helped her with light house work and was just so patient and caring. When my mom moved into LTC, Navpreet assisted with the transition period which made it that much easier for my mom to adjust to her new home. I would recommend Home Instead to anyone who needs friendly, loving care.

Toni D., client's son


It took quite a bit of coordination to provide 24 hour care when my father became ill - in the hospital, at home waiting for surgery and then post surgery. Thanks to all the caregivers, but especially Sheena who was there every week day , 9-5 which gave some stability to the revolving door of people that supported Dad during this difficult time. She was a joy to work with and Sheena was always doing something to make the experience better for Dad. I sensed Dad wanted to take her to Florida with him! Thank you.

Lanee B., client's daughter


Caregivers from Home Instead (H.I.) are allowing me to keep my husband, who has Alzheimer’s, at home, where he is happy, as long as possible. While the caregivers tend to my husband’s needs, I get a break so that I can get out to socialize, be intellectually stimulated, and attend aquafit classes. Without H.I., I’d likely be stuck at home 24/7 and risk caregiver burnout or severe depression. Our current caregiver is wonderful and she, my husband and I get along very well, as H.I. makes it a priority to find a good fit between the client and the caregiver. Our caregiver is very attentive and responsive to my husband’s needs by preparing his brunch and making sure that he has all the coffee that he wants and that the water in his hot water bottle is actually hot. She actively engages him in conversation and activities such as looking at photo albums. She straightens his bed after he wakes up or has a nap and makes sure that he is safe. Our caregiver has also been a great help to me with light housekeeping, and when she finishes her shift, everything is always neat and tidy, leaving me free to do my other tasks such as shopping, banking, bill paying, gardening, arranging for house repairs and all of the other things that need to be done in order to keep a house functioning smoothly. I’m very impressed with H.I.’s oversight and procedures; for example, H.I. has a 24/7 call centre; the H.I. client representative always personally introduces new caregivers to clients; if a caregiver is late arriving, the caregiver is required to phone the H.I. call centre and the H.I. person on call phones and informs the client. If a caregiver is ill and cannot make their shift, H.I. informs the client and offers to find a substitute caregiver. All caregivers are required to sign in and sign out from their shift with head office. If there are virtually any issues at the client’s home, the caregiver can phone the H.I. call centre to find a resolution. In addition, the H.I. client representative regularly visits each client’s home for quality assurance and to assess the client’s satisfaction. I feel very happy and secure with Home Instead’s service.

Mara G., client's wife


Once again Home Instead has proven to be an amazing company.
This past weekend I needed a caregiver on short notice because of an emergency situation. Rosie Jabbal and Mackenzie Veldboom jumped right in and worked in tandem to find someone suitable.
I don't know what I would have done without their help. They are like angels that come to the rescue when everything is falling apart. A heartfelt thank you to them both.

W.G.


Home Instead has been an invaluable service for our family.  My sister, who lived with Mom, passed away unexpectedly last June and both my other sister and I live out of the province. Having a caregiver from Home Instead has allowed Mom to remain at home and keep her independence.
Caregiver Patty has been with Mom since last summer and provides help with household tasks as well as companionship. She visits twice a week for a couple of hours each time. My Mom likes the routine of having the same person visit her and we appreciate knowing that she is looked after.
Patty is a wonderful caregiver. She is patient, kind, honest, and reliable. She gives us peace of mind knowing that Mom has someone to help her and that we will be notified should there be any concerns.
We have utmost respect for Home Instead as a service company for seniors and hold Patty in the highest regard. We recommend Home Instead without hesitation for anyone needing help with their loved one.
Thank you and have a wonderful day.

client's daughter


We are so pleased that we found Home Instead whilst we were in Canada looking after my husband's 96 year old mother, taking her every day to visit her husband who was in hospital with a broken femur. We live in the UK and the peace of mind that Home Instead have given us is immeasurable. My husband's parents are once again back in their apartment with Home Instead visiting them on a regular basis, not only keeping the apartment clean and tidy but also taking them to various appointments. We contacted Home Instead online and they are so quick to respond. I want to thank, not only their carer but also all the staff in the office with whom we have dealt with over the past 4 months. Cheers Home Instead and thank you.

Pat Walker, client's daughter-in-law


I just wanted to write and thank everyone for the wonderful care my mom (Monica) has received over this past year. Right from the beginning when my mom was still in the hospital back in August 2014, any requests or questions were answered and taken care of immediately. From the beginning, your CAREgivers Karrie Ann and Lucelia were absolutely wonderful for my mom and made her feel safe and comfortable in her new home. Thank you to the night shift girls, you made us feel safe at night. My family can’t thank you enough for all of the warm, compassionate care Monica received this past year! Thank you again to everyone at Home Instead

Liz & family, client’s daughter, Hamilton


I had the pleasure of meeting caregiver Bernie after I had surgery in April. Bernie was such an amazing help to myself and my family. She came in to our home and knew immediately what she needed to do. I truly believe that my recovery was a much smoother one because of Bernie.
Home Instead Senior Care was efficient and knowledgeable. They knew exactly what I needed, and paired me with the perfect caregiver. I would not hesitate to recommend Home Instead Senior Care to anyone for short term or long term care.

Susan Shemilt, client


The Home Instead Care Givers were wonderful with my Dad. They responded rapidly to our changing needs and it was such a relief to know we could count on them in all the unexpected emergencies that arose with caring for a sick parent while living in a different city. They were caring and patient and quickly gained my Dad's trust and friendship. I would recommend them highly and with no hesitations.

Tony M., client's son


I highly recommend Home Instead. I have dealt with both the Mississauga and Halton teams and they are both professional, organized and caring. For the last year, Mom's companion has been Michelle. Michelle has supported and helped Mom through her transition to a new facility and her challenging journey.
Thanks Michelle and Home Instead!

Paul Lawson, client’s son


Thank you all at Home Instead! The service was very professional from the start until long-term care placement of my mother who suffers with Dementia. The weekly visits by Lesya were always met with enthusiasm - very caring and helpful in her assistance - as I knew my mother was in good hands while in her care. More than a worthy mention to the Care Coordinator who was very eager to help in coordinating assistance and making sure everything was going well and all too helpful in answering any (and many) questions. In hindsight, I don't know how I'd manage without the extra help from Home Instead. Thank you all.

Stephan C, client’s son


My husband has been dealing with health problems and I am still working full time, I am grateful for the help Home Instead have provided me. The care providers are very friendly, caring and knowledgeable. They have been so reliable, I was able to leave for a two week visit to Australia to see my parents, knowing that he will be in good care. The Administrators are very experienced, it was never any hassle when we have to change the visiting time due to appointments and other engagements. In general, when I call to the office, it doesn't matter who answers the phone, I feel like they all know me and can't wait to assist me. That is a good feeling and I thank you.

Catherine Graney, client’s daughter


Home Instead responded in a timely manner and assigned appropriate caregivers even when our mother’s care needs changed . All staff were professional and caring and treated our elderly mom with respect and dignity. Many went above and beyond their assigned role to ensure mom’s comfort. I would recommend Home Instead to other families.

Pat Norman, client’s daughter


Upon meeting the representative from Home Instead we were immediately at ease. Conversation and our desires were warmly received. Even though our indecision lingered, when I called Home Instead in a panic in an emergency situation, I was again warmly received. I was patiently listened to and in a extremely short timeline Home Instead was able to assist me with someone who willingly and graciously 'filled the bill'.

Cecilia








Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Sign up for advice

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Please select at least one newsletter.
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample
By submitting your email address, you consent to receive emails from Home Instead, Inc. You can withdraw your consent at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy or contact us for more details.